Skip to content

Dr Andy Hall appointed as Chair of ENSREG


We are pleased to report that Dr Andy Hall, Chief Nuclear Inspector has been appointed as the new Chair of the European Nuclear Safety Regulators Group (ENSREG).

ENSREG is the independent expert body of senior officials from national regulatory or nuclear safety authorities from all 27 member states in the EU. ENSREG aims for continuous improvements in nuclear safety and a common approach to agreed international minimum safety standards which aligns with ONR’s strategy for greater international cooperation.

Andy will take up his new position in June 2014, initially for a period of 2 years in addition to his role as CNI. Andy was elected to his role unopposed by other member states and will replace the current Chair Gerald Hennenhofer, Federal Minister for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety from Germany.

ONR has been a member of ENSREG since 2011 and now aims to provide high-level influence within the Group in addition to attending regular meetings and working groups. ENSREG reports to the European Parliament and Council through the European Commission.